How Perennial is organised

Perennial employs staff around the UK to help and support horticulturists and their families. A team of senior managers and support staff is based at the charity’s head office in Leatherhead, Surrey with dedicated advisers and fundraisers based around the UK.

Who’s Who 

Perennial is governed by a Board of Trustees who serve on a voluntary basis. They are drawn from a variety of professions but all have a common objective of providing the very best in support services to those in need in horticulture.



HRH Princess Alexandra, KG, GCVO



Alan Titchmarsh MBE, VMH 

Vice Presidents

Ian Flanagan OBE
Sir David Howard
Caroline Owen
Lord Cavendish of Furness
Bernard Tickner
Sir Roger Singleton
Jim Buttress VMH


Dougal Philip – Chairman
Founder and owner of New Hopetoun Gardens, RHS Council member, and past President of the Horticultural Trades Association.

Sue Tasker – Vice Chairman
Gardener, Editor of the Professional Gardener magazine and former Secretary of the Professional Gardeners’ Guild.

Heather Barrett-Mold
Horticulturist and educationalist. Former Principal of Pershore College.

Lisa Buckland
Freelance garden writer, author and TV presenter, involved in garden retail. Lisa chairs the External Affairs committee dealing with marketing and fundraising.

Christine Cohen
Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Gardeners, former Chair of the City of London Open Spaces Committee and keen gardener.

Ken Crowther
Owner of a landscaping business, former garden centre owner and past President of the Horticultural Trades Association. Local radio broadcaster.

Alan Kendall
Social worker and retired Regional Director of Barnardo’s. Chairman of Perennial’s Policy and Services Committee.

Ian Maxwell-Scott
Investment manager, Managing Director of Investec Wealth & Management Ltd.

Andrew Nebel
Marketing Consultant with wide business and charity experience.

Carol Paris
Chief Executive of the Horticultural Trades Association.

Sue Richards
Social work and child care expertise including as Director of Children’s Services.

Paul Richmond
Honorary Treasurer. Retired qualified accountant with extensive business experience. Chairs Resources Committee dealing with finance, investments, etc.

Neville Stein
Principal and founder of Ovation Business Consultants, working in the land-based sector since 1977.

James Robinson
Retired business executive. A former Trustee of Fullers Mill Trust, Suffolk.


Senior Staff:

Chief Executive                                                   Richard Capewell
Director of Services                                            Sheila Thomson
Director of Finance                                             Simon Kemp
Director of Marketing and Development            Anita Bates


Annual Report and Accounts

Read our latest Annual Report and Accounts

Read our 2012 Annual Report and Accounts